About Us News & Events Contact us

Shivaji University, Kolhapur

The College is affiliated to Shivaji University, Kolhapur; established in 1962 and was inaugurated on 18th November, 1962 by Dr. Radhakrishnan, President of India. One of the major objectives behind foundation of this University was to cater to the regional needs of South Maharashtra. The jurisdiction of the University is spread over three districts viz. Kolhapur, Sangli and Satara with strength of about 2,00,000 students studying in 225 affiliated colleges with 34 Postgraduate Departments on campus. The University imparts education in 10 major faculties of Arts, Social Science, Science, Commerce, Education, Fine Arts, Law, Medicine, Ayurvedic Medicine, Engineering and Technology (Pharmacy).

The recent phase of the University can be termed as "a pursuit of academic excellence". The University has also established the University-Industry Interaction Cells in three districts. The University is encouraging merit by introducing a unique scheme called 'Shivaji University Merit Scholarship' offering 500 scholarships to meritorious students in affiliated colleges. It has also instituted research fellowships for Ph. D. students in the Post-Graduate Departments of the University. The University has made a budget provision of about Rs. 45 Lakhs for these scholarships out of its own funds. This University can proudly claim to be the first University in India to initiate such a scheme. The University's efforts towards excellence are being recognised by the substantial grants received from funding agencies like UGC, DST, DBT etc. Another indicator of recognition of University is collaborations with premier institutes like Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Mumbai; Indian Institute of Geo-Magnetism, Mumbai; Maharashtra Police Academy, Nashik and Centre for Social Studies, Surat etc. Shivaji University has been re-accredited by National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) Bangalore, with B grade (2009).




© tatyasaheb kore college of pharmacy